Task Mastered (part 3)

Taskmaster 6

“So, how was the recording of Taskmaster series 6, episode 10 coming to Dave later this spring?” I hear you cry.

Rather good, I have to say.  On a technical level it was fascinating to see how many people in a wide range of capacities – from floor managers, to make-up, to the warm-up guy, to cameraman, to runners, etc – that it takes to make a show like Taskmaster function.  There was even a young chap with a box of snacks who popped out to feed the performers during breaks in recording.

The last time I saw a television programme being made was over 20 years ago at the old BBC Broadcasting House at Wood Lane.  I was there as one of the chaperones to a group of kids brought in to make up the audience for a Children’s BBC game show called Fan TC, presented by Toby Anstis and Danni Minogue.

The premise was that two groups of fans competed in a series physical and quizzical challenges relating to the object of their fandom.  The episode I was there for pitted a group of James Bond fans against a group of PJ and Duncan (aka Ant and Dec fans).  PJ and Duncan were in the studio as were Desmond Llewellyn, i.e. “Q” from the James Bond films.  He looked baffled by the who proceedings, putting him on a level playing field as the director.  At one point one of the junior 007 fans failed to play the James Bond theme tune on a massive keyboard with his feet approximate 38 times.

The debacle dragged on for hours until the PJ and Duncan fans eventually/inevitably won they performed/mimed their latest opus ‘Let’s Get Ready to Rumble’ accompanied by a group of the dancing girls.  During the routine one of the young hoofers tumbled off the back of the dias they were dancing on.  The director didn’t immediately notice so, after everyone thought they could go home, they had to be herded back into the studio to reshoot the music number.

Danni was furious.

The poor girl who had fallen was ushered past me by one of her fellow dancers, in tears.

“Ignore him,” she her comforter, “They shouldn’t have asked us to dance on that stupid fucking thing in the first place.”

No, that really happened.  It wasn’t a fever dream.

But I digress: Taskmaster.

At the start, before recording, we were whipped up into the frenzy by the warm-up man, Mark Olver.  He was good.  Warm-up is a difficult job; you mustn’t outshine the stars, as the audience won’t want the warm-up to finish; but you have to keep the audience ticking over, enthused and amused during the inevitable breaks in recording.  As it was the series final and the performers were tired as they were reaching the end of a grueling recording schedule, he was especially keen to make sure we were as noisy and as appreciative as possible.

I was watching the Taskmaster series final, for free, at the heart of historic Pinewood with my favourite lady by my side.  I doubt I could have been more appreciative if Mark Olver had gobbled me off and cooked me a steak dinner.

Apart from that there’s a limit to what I can say about recording, obviously.  We promised not to reveal the identity of the series winner.  That’s quite right and proper.  I won’t reveal the nature of any of the tasks as that would be a needless spoiler.  I think I can say that there were a number of Rolf Harris jokes that, although in context, are very unlikely to make the final cut of the episode.

This series’ competitors were great fun.  The line-up is common knowledge so I can mention them:

There the punning stand-up comedian Tim Vine.  I generally find his stand-up about as funny as a paper cut to the glans, but he was very good on the show.  I’ve always loved Radio 2 DJ and actress Liza Tarbuck and she was good bawdy fun.  Bristolian stand-up comedian Russell Howard was very much Russell Howard (if you’ve seen him on telly you’ll know what I mean).  Radio 1 DJ Alice Levine was lovely and obviously beloved by the other competitors.  And the quintet was finished by comedian Asim Chaudhry who was the only one I was unfamiliar with, but who charmed and amused me in equal measure despite his terrible potty-mouth.

Greg Davies and Alex Horne were heavily involved as well, of course, as Taskmaster and Taskmaster’s sidekick/confidante/victim.  Bless them, but they looked weary after shooting ten episodes in two weeks.  The previous series were no more than 6-8 episodes and when the cameras weren’t rolling they looked like they were flagging a bit.  Alex has been involved in the soon-to-be broadcast American version as well.  And Greg has his own sit-com, Man Down, which he writes and stars in.  They’ve been busy.

They were on cracking form with the improvised banter, mischief and such, don’t get me wrong, but they were struggling with some the scripted links on the autocue.  They had to do 11 pick-up (i.e. re-record sections to be dropped in during the edit) after the main record, most of which needed audience reaction either before or after.  I did so much clapping that I my hands swelled to the point I couldn’t get my wedding ring off.

Not that I wanted or needed to, but it’s good to know you can in case of an emergency.

The recording ran for about 3 hours (for an hour show minus advert breaks), but it didn’t disappoint.  We left at about 11.20pm, got into the car and drove off into the night.

Through Slough again, but you can’t have everything, can you?  Come lonely bombs, etc.

And I’ll leave you with the following which will only make sense when you see it in the final episode of series 6, broadcast this spring/summer on Dave:

“Fold it once, fold it twice, tuck it in then test it.”

What do I mean by that?  I couldn’t possibly comment.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.